Irish Travel Industry Awards 2016 winners announced

Business, Lifestyle | Fri 22 Jan | Author – Business & Finance
Fahy travel
Pictured (L-R): Tara Magee, British Airways; Maura Fahy, MD, Fahy Travel; Caroline O’Toole, Fahy Travel; Clodagh Connolly, Fahy Travel; and Martin Skelly, president, ITAA

Fahy Travel Worldchoice and Cassidy Travel were crowned ITAA Travel Agencies of the Year 2016 at the annual Irish Travel Industry Awards in Dublin last night.

The awards gala took place in the Mansion House and was attended by travel and tourism professionals from around the world to celebrate the hard-working and skilful travel professionals operating within Ireland.

Dublin-based Cassidy Travel won the title of ITAA Travel Agency of Year 2016 (over 10 employees), whilst Galway company Fahy Travel Worldchoice was crowned the ITAA Travel Agency of Year 2016 (less than 10 employees).

Other big winners on the night included, Atlas Travel who won Best ITAA Corporate Travel Agency and who won Best ITAA Member Marketing Campaign.

The award for Best ITAA Corporate Travel Professional went to Karen Gleeson from FCM Travel Solutions and the award for Best ITAA Leisure Travel Professional went to Liz Wright from Tour America.

Eoghan Corry, travel writer and editor of Travel Extra, was this year’s recipient of the Special Contribution to the Irish Travel Industry award.

Martin Skelly, president, ITAA, said: “Following a challenging few years, the outlook for Irelands travel trade is improving and this is down to the talented individuals working in our industry who have adapted to the market change and developed their roles. Already, 2016 looks set to be a great year for the Irish travel industry.”

Pat Dawson, CEO, ITAA, added: “The Irish Travel Industry Awards are a great way to recognise the innovation and talent that is operating with the Irish travel and tourism sector. I wish to extend my congratulations to all of the winners, especially Fahy Travel Worldchoice and Cassidy Travel who both deservedly won overall titles. ”

The annual event is designed to showcase excellence within the industry and the difficult job of judging the award winners fell to a panel of judges, chaired by Tom Lonergan.

The Irish Travel Industry Awards are an initiative of the Irish Travel Agents Association in association with Amadeus.

For a full list of winners, click here.