Business & Finance Awards

Ibec to be honoured with Outstanding Contribution to Irish Business Award at Business & Finance Awards

By Business & Finance
05 December 2018

Business & Finance Awards will honour the business lobby group for their contribution to Irish business over 25 years

Ibec, one of Europe’s largest business lobby groups representing Irish business, will be honoured at the 2018 Business & Finance Awards in December with the Outstanding Contribution to Irish Business Award.

History of Ibec

Ibec has been an institution in the Irish business space since its inception in 1993, when it formed following the merger between theConfederation of Irish Industry (CII) founded in 1932, and the Federation of Irish Employers (FIE), founded in 1942, formerly the Federated Union of Employers (FUE). Ibec currently employs over 70% of the private sector workforce in Ireland. The company and its trade associations lobby government, policy makers and other key stakeholders nationally and internationally to shape business conditions and drive economic growth and the company has over 40 trade associations within lobbying for different sectors of industry.

Representing all sectors of business

Brands under the Ibec umbrella include the Small Firms Association, Biopharmachem, Irish Medtech Association, Technology Ireland and Financial Services Ireland amongst others. Ibec’s position as a public commenter on the economy, a market leader in forecasts and surveys, its representation of Irish business at major national and international conferences and debates and the great work it does for Brand Ireland has merited the company with the Outstanding Contribution to Irish Business Award.

Ibec’s Strong Leadership

Danny McCoy, Ibec CEO

Former Presidents of Ibec include Ann Heraty, Cpl, Edel Creely, Trilogy Technologies, and Gerry Collins, Johnson and Johnson and current President is Paraic Curtis, SVP and GM of TE Medical, aided by Deputy President, Pat McCann, CEO of Dalata Hotel Group. CEO of Ibec Danny McCoy took on the role in 2009 in the midst of the economic recession. It is due to this strong board, leadership and steady hands through a pivotal period for Ireland Inc over the last 25 years that Ibec will be recognised of their Outstanding Contribution to Irish Business.

Business & Finance Awards 2018 honourees

The Business & Finance Awards, in association with KPMG, are Ireland’s foremost Irish business awards, running for the last four decades. The 2018 honourees include former President of the European Commission José Manuel Barroso, who will receive the inaugural Sutherland Leadership Award, former President of Ireland Mary McAleese, who will be honoured with the  TK Whitaker Award, along with Irish Rugby Team Head Coach Joe Schmidt who will receive the Outstanding Contribution to Brand Ireland Award.

Previous honourees include President Clinton, Sir John Major, Mary Robinson, Kofi Annan, Sen George Mitchell, Sir Bob Geldof, former Taoiseach Enda Kenny, and President of Ireland Michael D Higgins.