GALLERY: Business & Finance Awards 2016

Business, Editor's Choice | Wed 21 Dec | Author – Business & Finance
Pictured (L-R): President of Ireland Michael D Higgins, Sir Bob Geldof and Leicester City CEO Susan Whelan

President Michael D Higgins, Sir Bob Geldof and Susan Whelan were honoured at the 42nd annual Business & Finance Awards, which took place in The Convention Centre Dublin on December 15th.

Throughout its 42-year history, the Business & Finance Awards programme – now in association with KPMG – has recognised some of Ireland’s most significant business success stories.

The business awards are chosen by means of a rigorous judging process. This year’s judging panel included Frances Ruane (chair), Anne Heraty, Breege O’Donoghue, Danny McCoy, Gary McGann, Liam O’Mahony, Simon Boucher, Vincent Boland, Shaun Murphy, Barry Deveraux, Ian Hyland, John Walsh, Tommy Breen, Maura Quinn, Ian Talbot, Patrick Kennedy, Paul Connolly, Rose Hynes, Alan Ennis.

On the night, President Michael D Higgins accepted the inaugural TK Whitaker Award for Outstanding Contribution to Public Life.

In his speech President Higgins congratulated the award winners “for their contribution to Ireland’s economic and social welfare” and praised TK Whitaker for “the outstanding contribution he has made to so many aspects of Irish life, social, economic, political, cultural, and even ecological.” He closed his speech by reminding the assembled audience that, “all of us are challenged to continue the task of advancing the social, cultural and economic flourishing of all of Ireland’s citizens as the true measure of our political freedom”.

Martin Shanahan of IDA Ireland presented FDI of the Year award to Coca Cola, Shaun Murphy of KPMG announced ICON as winner of the Company of the Year award and Domhnal Slattery of Avolon picked up Business Person of the Year.

Sir Bob Geldof accepted the Outstanding Contribution to Ireland Award, while Susan Whelan, CEO of Leicester City Football Club, received the Global Irish Outstanding Achievement in Business Award.

To watch the speeches from the night, click here.