Ireland INC

Speaker Emerita Nancy Pelosi to receive Sutherland Leadership Award in Dublin this April

By Business & Finance
20 March 2024

Speaker Emerita Nancy Pelosi will travel to Dublin to receive the Sutherland Leadership Award at a special Gala Dinner on 22nd April.

For enquiries, contact

To register your interest, click here.

 Speaker Emerita Pelosi has been announced as the recipient of the Sutherland Leadership Award and will receive this special recognition at a Gala Dinner in Dublin on Monday, April 22nd in the company of over 600 International, business, political and social leaders. 

The event will take place on the evening of April 22nd 2024, at O’Reilly Hall, University College Dublin, Belfield, Dublin and is expected to see more than 600 business, political and social leaders attend. 

Pelosi will accept the Sutherland Leadership Award in recognition of an outstanding contribution to leadership and public life in a career spanning four decades. 

Throughout her decades in Congress, Pelosi, first elected in 1987, continuously broke barriers for women through her House leadership roles. She was voted the first female House minority whip in 2001, the first female minority leader in 2002 and first female speaker of the House in 2007. With that last victory, Pelosi became the highest-ranking woman in U.S. history at the time, eclipsing Madeleine Albright, a secretary of state under former President Bill Clinton

Pelosi has been instrumental in advancing key policies in healthcare, climate change, economic reform, and has consistently promoted equality throughout her time in politics. In 2013, she was inducted into the National Women’s Hall of Fame at a ceremony in Seneca Falls, the birthplace of the American women’s rights movement

Sutherland Leadership Award

The Sutherland Leadership Award was established in 2018 with the support of the Sutherland Family to recognise outstanding international leaders who have embodied the values of one of Ireland’s and Europe’s finest leaders, Peter Sutherland. Since its inception, The Sutherland Leadership Award has recognised European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen, Henry (Hank) Paulson, former US Secretary of the Treasury; José Manuel Barroso, former President of the European Commission, Mario Draghi, former President of the European Central Bank and Prime Minister of Italy and in 2023, Louise Richardson former Vice Chancellor Oxford University and President of the Carnegie Corporation of New York.  

Announcing her special recognition with the Sutherland Leadership Award, Ian Hyland said: ‘ “Speaker Emerita Pelosi has been an incredible example of outstanding leadership internationally. Her unyielding work to do the right thing, particularly in the context of women’s rights without boundaries, has made her a unique Public Servant, Patriot and Global Citizen. I believe Peter Sutherland would be proud that Speaker Emerita Pelosi will receive this very special recognition in his name

‘Finally, I am particularly delighted that Speaker Emerita Pelosi will accept the Sutherland Leadership Award as part of a program that has recognised some of the most outstanding leaders of our time including President Clinton, President Ursula von der Leyen, Senator George Mitchell, Sir John Major, President Mary Robinson, and President Zelenskyy. We are very much looking forward to honouring the Speaker Emerita with this very special recognition in the company of over 600 International business, political and social leaders on Monday April 22nd .’

For participation enquiries, contact

Register your interest

Dame Louise Richardson to be honoured with Sutherland Leadership Award

Ursula von der Leyen to accept Sutherland Leadership Award on behalf of the European Union