Business & Finance Awards

Business & Finance Awards 2024 launched in association with KPMG

By Business & Finance
23 May 2024
Pictured:  Ian Hyland, President & CEO of Business & Finance Media Group, Terry Clune CEO, 2023 Business Person of the Year Winner, Frances Ruane, Chairperson of the Judging Panel and Seamus Hand, Managing Partner of KPMG Ireland.

2024 Business & Finance Awards, in association with KPMG, will take place on 5th December at the Convention Centre Dublin.

Business & Finance was launched in 1964 as Ireland’s first dedicated business periodical, with the Business & Finance Awards programme established in 1974. The Business & Finance Awards is Ireland’s premier business & leadership awards programme and has recognised some of the most outstanding leaders of our time across business, politics and wider society over five decades. 

Former honourees include President Bill Clinton, Speaker Emerita Nancy Pelosi, former British Prime Minister Sir John Major, former President of Ireland Mary Robinson, former Secretary-General of the United Nations Kofi Annan, President Michael D. Higgins, former ECB President Mario Draghi, former Taoiseach Enda Kenny, Senator George Mitchell, In 2022, President of the European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen, accepted an outstanding contribution to Ireland award, on behalf of the EU while Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy accepted the TK Whitaker Award.

The Leadership Forum

As we celebrate the 60th anniversary of Business & Finance, we are excited to announce an expansion of our awards programme with the launch of the The Leadership Forum.

This exclusive C-suite forum will assemble former honourees and shortlisted nominees including companies and their CEOs, convening them across a series of engagements to enable dialogue and sharing of insights, exploring where business can drive and assist economic and social initiatives and drawing on business leadership in the lead up to the 2024 awards.

Ian Hyland, President & CEO of Business & Finance Media Group, said: “For six decades, Business & Finance has championed the leading Irish entrepreneurs, business leaders, as well as their outstanding teams, in addition to some of the most outstanding international, political and social change makers of our time.”

“I am excited to continue that tradition, and so, as we look forward to the next sixty years as we launch the annual Business & Finance Awards Programme with our partners KPMG.”

Professor Frances Ruane, Chairperson of the judging panel, said: “As we mark the 60th anniversary of Business & Finance, I am reminded of seeing the magazine on newsagents’ shelves in the 1960s. It was an early sign of how innovation within Irish companies and within newly-arrived FDI companies would come to propel Ireland’s economic growth over the following six decades.

“Little did I know back then that I would have the honour of chairing the 50th anniversary Business & Finance Awards in 2024. It is truly inspiring to see up close how Irish businesses and business leaders help to grow and transform our economy so that it is competitive and successful on the ever evolving global stage.”

Seamus Hand, Managing Partner KPMG Ireland said: “KPMG is delighted to continue our partnership with the flagship Business & Finance Awards and we congratulate Business & Finance on their 60th anniversary this year. 

“There are so many companies and individuals in the Irish business community that have achieved amazing success and demonstrated incredible innovation but also resilience over the last year. Accordingly, we are eagerly anticipating the receipt of many superb nominations and extend our very best wishes to all the companies and individuals entering the awards.

The Awards programme includes seven categories as well as three special honorary awards:

TK Whitaker Award – Established in 2016, the TK Whitaker Award for Outstanding Contribution to Public Life recognises Irish and international social and political leaders who have been exemplary in their contribution to public life. Since its inception, the TK Whitaker Award has honoured President of Ireland Michael D. Higgins , Former Taoiseach Enda Kenny TD , Former President of Ireland, Mary McAleese, renowned producer Lord David Puttnam CBE, John and Pat Hume, President Volodymyr Zelenskyy and, in 2023, actor Gabriel Byrne.

Sutherland Leadership Award – The Sutherland Leadership Award was established in 2018 with the support of the Sutherland family to recognise outstanding international leaders who have embodied the values of one of Ireland’s and Europe’s finest leaders, Peter Sutherland. Since its inception, the Sutherland Leadership Award has recognised Speaker Emerita Nancy Pelosi, European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen, Henry (Hank) Paulson, former US Secretary of the Treasury; José Manuel Barroso, former President of the European Commission, Mario Draghi, former President of the European Central Bank and Prime Minister of Italy and Louise Richardson former Vice Chancellor Oxford University and President of the Carnegie Corporation of New York.

Outstanding Contribution to Brand Ireland – The Outstanding Contribution to Brand Ireland recognises an individual or brand who has made significant contributions to Brand Ireland on the international stage. Former honourees include Champion Horse trainer Aidan O’Brien, Irish and British & Irish Lions Captain Brian O’Driscol and Champion jockey Rachael Blackmore.


Company of the Year: Companies eligible for the Company of the Year Awards in association with KPMG are Irish businesses who, along with having a significant impact in Ireland, operate with an international focus and have annual revenue exceeding €200 million. 

Business Person of the Year: The Business Person of the Year Award, in association with KPMG, recognises an individual who has demonstrated an outstanding level of achievement across his/her/their career over the past year. 

Elevation Company of the Year: Companies eligible for this award in association with Enterprise Ireland are Irish-owned high-performing companies on their journey to achieving greater international scale to become global leaders in their field with an annual revenue ceiling of €200 million. 

FDI Company of the Year: The FDI Company of the Year in association with IDA Ireland is awarded to an international company with significant investments in Ireland, while also having an impact on Irish life both economically and socially. 

Diversity, Equality & Inclusion (DE&I): The Business & Finance Diversity, Equality & Inclusion Award will recognise a company that is at the forefront of improving the lives of their employees while also enhancing the civic environment in which they operate. 

ESG Business of the Year Award: The Environmental, Social & Governance (ESG) category will recognise companies making exceptional contributions across ESG in having a clear strategy across environmental, social and governance indicators. 

Innovation Award (new to 2024): Business & Finance excited to introduce the Innovation Award. This new category will honour groundbreaking ideas, products, or processes that redefine possibilities and set new benchmarks for success.

The Innovation Award celebrates the pioneering spirit driving progress across various industries, fostering a culture of creativity and forward-thinking. The award will recognise companies that have implemented innovative initiatives, demonstrating clear, positive changes and unlocking new market opportunities.

Business & Finance is seeking an exclusive partner for this new Award. For more information on this unique partnership opportunity to align with Innovation at C-level please click below

Become a partner now:

Submissions for the awards open 14th June, 2024. To keep up to date, please subscribe to our newsletter: